Foundation header

Who We Are

Plymouth Education Foundation (PEF) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization whose primary purpose is to enhance the educational experience of the students enrolled in the Plymouth School District. The foundation is a proactive organization raising funds to provide for special academic programs, activities, lecturers, awards, and scholarships; capital campaigns for projects not covered by the school district’s budget that enhance the educational opportunities; professional development for teachers in programs that benefit students in the district; and, other activities as deemed appropriate and requested by the Plymouth Board of Education. The foundation is dedicated to providing these critical enriching educational programs through the generous donations of scholarships, grants, and endowments from the community, alumni, and donors. The foundation has been providing financial support to the Plymouth School District for more than 30 years.



In 1978, a Plymouth teacher and her husband, having no children, left a significant gift in trust to benefit Plymouth students with opportunities not included in the school district's budget such as the annual middle school trip to Camp Anokijig. The funds were held in trust for 10 years and in July 1988, the School Board decided to use this generous gift to create the Plymouth Education Foundation, which is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization whose purpose is to enhance the educational experience of students in the Plymouth School District. The Plymouth Education Foundation celebrates its more than 30 years of leading support for innovative initiatives that prepare all students to succeed in life and make a difference in society.


Board of Directors

The Plymouth Education Foundation's Board of Directors is comprised of community and school volunteers who are committed to sustaining the excellence of our community's public schools.

The Foundation Board is elected each January. Those who would like to be considered for a board position in the future are asked to please contact the Foundation at 920-892-2661 ext. 1008, or

In addition, the Foundation is in the process of forming committees for the current school year. Volunteers who are interested in serving on committees led by Foundation board members should contact the Foundation at or 920-892-2661 ext. 1008. These roles are a great way to get involved before making a board commitment when a position opens in the future.

Executive Committee

  • Neil Argall, President
  • Jessica VanDerven, Vice-President
  • Kyle Peterson, Secretary
  • Kelly Cowhig, Treasurer


  • Sara Baltus
  • Kelly Bindl
  • Michelle Birschbach
  • Tom Blend
  • Gale Grahn
  • Jason Jaeckels (non-voting)
  • Lindsay Leider
  • Lori Plate
  • Nicole Shuman
  • Bob Travis, Plymouth Board of Education liaison (non-voting)
  • Dan Mella, Plymouth School District superintendent (non-voting)