Foreign Exchange at Plymouth High School

Plymouth High School has a long tradition of welcoming students from other countries, hosting 147 students from 48 different countries in the past decade alone.

AFS logo

Exchange programs


The Plymouth AFS chapter is one of the oldest and most active in the state, dating to 1949 (when PHS hosted students from Germany and Japan).


The Kennedy-Lugar Youth Exchange & Study Program provides scholarships for secondary school students from countries with significant Muslim populations.


International Student Exchange & participants live with a volunteer host family and attend their local high school.


PHS students are able to spend part of the summer learning and exploring in a foreign country, thanks to Council on International Educational Exchange Global Navigator Scholarships administered by the U.S. Department of State.

We need you!

Be a host family: More than providing a bed and meals, host families welcome a new member into their home, share their everyday lives, and grow as they get to know one another.

Be a liaison: Liaisons are volunteers identified as the primary contact for each host family and individual AFS participant for the duration of his or her program.

Be an AFS student: Spend a year studying abroad in one of more than 50 AFS countries.

Learn more: Contact Pat Gafney at

Countries represented by visiting students

2022-23: Germany, Greece, Israel, Macedonia, Spain, Slovakia, South Korea, Switzerland

2021-22: Bulgaria, Chile, Denmark, Dominican Republic, France, Moldova, Norway, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Suriname, and Sweden

2019-20: Belgium, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

2018-19: Albania, Denmark, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Macedonia, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain

2017-18: Austria, Dominican Republic, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Norway, Spain, Turkey

2016-17: Austria, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Portugal, Saudi Arabia

2015-16: Argentina, Australia, Denmark, Germany, Hong Kong, Jordan, Moldova, Spain, Turkey

2014-15: Chile, Denmark, Italy, Norway, Germany, Russia, Spain, Turkey

2013-14: Chile, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway, Russia, Spain, Turkey

2012-13: Australia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Germany, Iceland, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Spain, Yemen