Students rehearsing on stage

“Damn Yankees” tells the story of a baseball fan who trades his soul to the Devil for a chance to lead his favorite team to a pennant win.

PHS to present ‘Yankees’ as spring musical

Posted February 24, 2020
Updated March 12, 2020

Important information about the PHS Musical

As of March 12, the Wisconsin Department of Health Services is now recommending that all non-essential gatherings of 250 or more people should be cancelled or postponed to help protect Wisconsinites from the spread of COVID-19.

Accordingly, all performances of the Plymouth High School spring musical scheduled for this weekend regretfully will not be open to the general public. Instead, each member of the cast and crew will have a limited number of tickets for their family and friends.

Those already holding tickets can bring them to the PHS Office starting March 16 for a refund. If you chose not to seek a refund, we gratefully appreciate your donation to our program.


Plymouth High School will present the Broadway mega-hit “Damn Yankees” as its annual spring musical March 12-15.

 “Damn Yankees” tells the story of middle-aged baseball fanatic Joe Boyd, who trades his soul to the Devil, also known as Mr. Applegate, for a chance to lead his favorite team to victory in the pennant race against the New York Yankees.

Transformed into a young baseball sensation, Joe turns the hapless Washington Senators into a winning team, only to realize the true worth of the life that he's left behind. Audiences will enjoy seeing if the Senators win the World Series and if Joe can ultimately outsmart Applegate and return to his former self.

Based on the novel “The Year the Yankees Lost the Pennant” by Douglass Wallop, “Damn Yankees” won seven Tony Awards, including Best Musical. The winning score by Richard Adler and Jerry Ross and a devilish book by George Abbott and Douglass Wallop have made this sporty comedy a true American classic.

Shows will begin at 7 p.m. Thursday March 12, Friday March 13, and Saturday March 14, with a matinee at 2 p.m. Sunday March 15 in the Acuity Auditorium at Plymouth High School, 125 S. Highland Ave.

Reserved-seat tickets cost $9 and are on sale in the Plymouth High School office beginning Tuesday Feb. 25. Any remaining tickets will be available at the door an hour before each performance.

The double-cast PHS show is directed by Colleen Schulz and Amanda Smith, with choreography by Lori Schmitt, set construction by Scott Bunyea and Shane Smith, pit band direction by Cody Wisman, and technical direction by Gary Kaiser.

Learn more:
• Visit The Arts section of our District Report Card to learn more about the extensive and varied performance opportunities available to our students.

Cast & Crew


Note: When two names are listed, first is Thursday/Saturday cast, second is Friday/Sunday cast
Applegate: Chase Jasinski, Michael Krusiec
Lola: Jordyn Anderson, Lizzie Riley
Joe Hardy: Davis Sukow, Dylan Ernst
Joe Boyd: Ethan Lilyquist, Micah Falk
Meg Boyd: Christina Pringle, Katherine Rauscher
Benny Van Buren: Andrew Van Norwick, Alonzo Trunell-Spindler
Gloria Thorpe: Lexi Sheridan, Alli Schwartz
Welch: Olivia Straub, Isaac Gonzalez
Sister: Rosalia Johnson, Kernen Jarr
Doris: Maddy Brix, Julianna Neu
Commissioner: Ezra Schermacher, Mason Brill-Meerdink
Miss Weston: Azure Maki, Kate Hermanson
Postmaster: Alicia Nugent, Gracianne Nohl
Smokey: Carson Anhalt
Rocky: Ethan Joseph
Henry: Drake Schilder
Sohovik: Austin Schwartz
Linville: Jacob Gruttner
Radio Announcer: Paul Krzyzaniak


Carson Anhalt
Mason Brill-Meerdink
Meghan Caster
Blanca Cervera
Dylan Ernst
Micah Falk
Isaac Gonzales
Jacob Gruttner
Ethan Joseph
Ella Josephs
Chloe Kalk
Katelyn Knuth
Ethan Lilyquist
Adam Miller
Maggie Munson
Ezra Schermacher
Austin Schwartz
Ellie Staehling
Davis Suckow
Celia Tellenbach
Sarah Von der Vellen
Nicole Walber
Matthew Brix
Sophia Hansen
Nora Jaeger
Mara Kiekhoefer
Lauren Kent
Alia Loehr
Riley Meyer
Adam Miller
Cameron Schrieber
Meg Thiry
Vaughn Zwick


Piano: Valerie Kaat
Drum Set: Lucas Gruttner
Percussion: Nick Harpstead
Guitar: Annika Nelson
Bass: Ansel Olsen
Horn: Ashleigh Brown, Tessie Carbaugh
Trumpets: Grace Artery, AJ Klug, Dillon Merideth
Trombones: Reed Gahagan, Gabe Kallaward, Kinsey Ninneman
Flutes: Emma Immel, Bell Schilling, Victoria Stark, Ana Vera
Clarinets: Cami Schroeder, Elisa Spatt, Margret Williamson, Zoe Zwick
Oboe/English Horn: Alex Otty
Alto Sax: Bryce Fuerst, Nick Wishman
Tenor Sax: Carolyn Britt, Zoe Zwick
Baritone Saxophone: Levi Nemitz
Bassoons: Hannah Hampel, Alex Weisensel
Cello: Isaac Kraus



Rob Grimes
Robbie Horner
Carter Lund
Nick Shircel
Kevin Smith

Run Crew

Soraya Esquivel
Elise Friedel
Sicily Geiken
Luke Goeser
Josh Harms
Bella Hoyt
Natalie Johnson
Allison Limberg
Tanner Nett
Sarya Osterberg
Sierra Kent
Natalie Johnson
Sierra Kent
Judy Liao Ramos
Allison Limberg
Tanner Nett
Sarya Osterberg