Riverview Blog

Mr. Gruett and Elsa shaking hands on stage

Riverview teacher Tyler Gruett shakes hands with Elsa Boxrucker, winner of the 2020 Riverview Geography Bee.

Riverview Geography Bee

Posted January 27, 2020

Elsa Boxrucker, a sixth-grade student at Riverview Middle School, has won the school-level competition of the National Geographic Bee and a chance at a $50,000 college scholarship. 

This first round of competition was open to all Riverview students, and more than 500 took a preliminary test. The top 30 qualifiers advanced to the school bee, held Jan. 16 in the Riverview Auditorium, with each contestant answering one question orally per round for seven rounds.

Qualifiers for the Riverview Geography Bee were:

  • Eighth-graders: Tom Blad (2019 qualifier), Trevor Bruckner, Silas Dailey, Jack Jacquat, Erynn Kletzien, Preston Raeder, Andrew Rau, Kerissa Schleicher (2019 qualifier), Brylee Schuenemann, Brielle Seymour (2019 qualifier), Allison Steiner, John Steinhardt
  • Seventh-graders: Deacon Allen, Blake Buechel, Aiden Dinkelman, Benjamin Harpstead, Barret Helmer (2018 and 2019 qualifier), Brennan Helmer, Emmitt Huhn (2019 qualifier), Chloe Krebsbach, Alison Matzdorf (2019 qualifier), Molly Munson, Sydney Rohde (2019 qualifier), Michael Stephan (2019 qualifier), Tayla Weisensel
  • Sixth-graders: Elsa Boxrucker, Max Hill, Marta Rubenis
  • Fifth-graders: Zoey Dobbertin, Chase Markus

Eight contestants correctly answered six of seven questions to advance to the Championship Round. Elsa Boxrucker and Silas Dailey advanced to become the final two. Elsa eventually won on a fifth Championship question about China’s largest city, Shanghai.

The 32nd annual National Geographic Bee includes thousands of schools around the United States and its territories. School winners, including Elsa, now take a written test; up to 100 of the top scorers in each state will be eligible to compete in their state Geography Bee, which in Wisconsin will be March 27.

finalists on stage
Marta in the Riverview Library

Marta Rubenis won the Riverview Spelling Bee, held Dec. 16 in the school library.

Riverview Spelling Bee

Posted January 13, 2020

Marta Rubenis, a sixth-grader at Riverview Middle School, won the school-level competition of the National Spelling Bee.

Marta now will represent Riverview in regional competition, set for Jan. 27 at Acuity in Sheboygan.

The Riverview Spelling Bee, organized by Riverview teacher Jessica Barrington, was held Dec. 16 in the school library. Others competing in the bee were:

  • Eighth-graders: Emily Chen, Destiny Colassaco, Lauryn Pelnar, Preston Raeder, Brylee Schuenemann, Brielle Seymour
  • Seventh-graders: Deacon Allen, Grace Lambert, Devin Shircel
  • Sixth-graders: Addison Arnold, Cavin Baltus, Joslyn Kletzien, Hope Lambert, Ivy Lueck, Alexander Young
  • Fifth-graders: Zoey Dobbertin, Gretchen Herzog, Alison Kilcoyne, Chase Markus, Emma Murphy, Landon Ross, Sebastian Vervaeck
12 students smiling

Lakeland Math Meet

Posted November 25, 2019

Two members of the Riverview Math Club received honorable mention at the recent Lakeland University Middle School Math Meet.

Silas Dailey and Emmitt Huhn each scored 29 of the possible 40 points and received a medal at the meet, held Nov. 11. Also competing for Riverview were Emily Chen, Sawyer Dailey, Erynn Kletzien, Chloe Krebsbach, Will Krebsbach, Andrew Rau, Vincent Reysen, Devin Shircel, Cora Steiner, and Marco Troka.

The Riverview Math Club, coached by teachers Jessica Barrington and Billie Rau, meets from 2:45 to 3:30 p.m. Mondays in Mrs. Rau’s room. Students in grades six to eight are welcome to participate; they do not need to attend every practice to be part of the team. The team also participates in the UW-Oshkosh Math Meet and Math Counts competitions.

9 students wearing medals

Cross Country

Posted November 25, 2019

Members of the Riverview Cross Country team, coached by Jessica Barrington, Kamie Gritt, and Taylor Praeger, were awarded medals for their performance this fall.

Honored students were Boden Budrecki, Kade Burdick, Aidan Cohn, Hannah Downs, Clarie Nelson, Claire Poppe, Andrew Rau, Ethan Rau, Wyatt Rodgers, and Megan Schuenemann.