Panther Accolades: Academic Bowl, Forensics, Model UN

Posted March 11, 2019

Congratulations to these Plymouth High School student groups on their recent awards!

Group photo

The PHS Academic Bowl team

ECC Academic Bowl

PHS was co-champion of the 2019 East Central Conference Academic Bowl competition, held March 5 at Kewaskum High School.

The eight ECC schools participate in the annual competition, which began in 2014-15 when the WIAA conferences were restructured. Each 20-member team is challenged in the topics of science, English, math, social studies and current events, in a written test and a group question-and-answer round.

This is the first title for PHS, which finished second last year. The Panthers also earned 13 individual medals, the most ever by PHS students. Winning medals were:

  • Alex Oty: 1st in Chemistry
  • Avi Charlton-Diesch: 1st in British Literature
  • Olivia Straub: 1st in Short Stories and Poetry
  • Maggie Munson: 2nd place in Biology
  • Kyle Kraus: 2nd in Chemistry
  • Christian Pieper: 2nd in Physics
  • Matt Sheridan: 2nd for Spelling and Grammar
  • Elsa Blad: 2nd in American Literature
  • Dallas Kreisa: 2nd in Algebra 2
  • Carolyn Britt: 2nd in U.S. History
  • Kevin Smith: 3rd in General Science
  • Austin Zeeveld: 3rd in Geometry
  • Jacob Gruttner: 3rd in Geography

Others on the PHS team were Ella Bindl, Reed Gahagan, Caitlin McEvoy, Katherine Rauscher, Charlotte Suttner, Michael Troka, and Reese Young. Alternates were Madeline Brix, Peyton DeZwarte, Isaac Gonzales, and Ezra Schermacher.

To be a part of the Academic Bowl team, students must complete a short application with transcripts and endorsements by three faculty members. PHS teachers Carrie Pieper and Meredith Herrera, advisers for the team, then select those who would be strongest in each category, keeping a short list of alternates.

All medal winners are automatically invited to return to the team the next year. This year’s team had 12 returning members, five of whom won medals last year.

students wearing medals

These Plymouth High School students won individual medals at the ECC Academic Bowl.

group photo with medals and trophy

Members of the PHS Forensics Team include, front row from left, Belle Karls-Schilling, Grace Harvey, Marte Kolstad, and Emma and Grace Wynveen; back row, Avi Charlton-Diesch, Michellelena Kraemer, Kieran Kraemer, Caitlin McEvoy, Lauren Siemers, Nora Jaeger, Bora Ajdini, and Cami Schroeder.

Forensics Team

The PHS Forensics team reclaimed the conference championship title, and earned a trophy for high team average at the conference meet held March 4 at Campbellsport. 

Competing for the Panthers were:

  • Avi Charlton-Diesch: gold medal in Informative Speaking
  • Belle Karls-Schilling: gold medal in Informative Speaking
  • Michellelena Kraemer: gold medal in Demonstration Speaking
  • Caitlin McEvoy: gold medal in Special Occasion
  • Lauren Siemers: gold medal in Oratory
  • Emma & Grace Wynveen: gold medal in Play Acting
  • Bora Ajdini: silver medal in Moments in History
  • Nora Jaeger: silver medal in Prose
  • Kieran Kraemer: silver medal in Storytelling
  • Cami Schroeder: silver medal in Oral Interpretation of Literature
  • Grace Harvey: honorable mention in Moments in History
  • Marte Kolstad: honorable mention in Informative Speaking

Earlier in the season, the PHS Forensics team took first at the Pirate Invitational held Jan. 12 at Port Washington High School, first Jan. 19 at the Oshkosh North High School Tournament, third Feb. 2 at the Winneconne High School Tournament, second Feb. 9 at the West Bend Tournament, and first Feb. 16 in Kaukauna.

group photo with flags

Members of the PHS Model UN Team at Marian University

Model UN

The PHS Model UN team sent 28 students representing 20 countries to the Model UN Conference held March 1 at Marian University in Fond du Lac.

Students participated in simulations to create resolutions to address global issues, including human trafficking, the refugee crisis in Myanmar, cultural heritage preservation in armed conflicts, and climate action for island nations.

Panthers receiving recognition were:

  • Alex Oty: Outstanding Delegate
  • Areliz Soto-Verduzco: Distinguished Delegate, Delegates Choice
  • Maggie Munson: Distinguished Delegate
  • Cami Schroeder: Delegates Choice
  • Michael Troka: Delegates Choice

Outstanding Delegate (the top distinction) and Distinguished Delegate are bestowed by the chairs on the committee. Delegates Choice is voted on by the students.


Learn more:

• Explore the Extracurriculars section of our District Report Card to learn more about our history of success in academic extracurriculars.