PHS Model U.N. team in front of world flags

PHS brings home 13 Model U.N. awards

Posted February 26, 2018

Ten Plymouth High School students were recognized at the Model U.N. Conference held recently at Marian University.

Nearly 200 students from 17 schools participated in the Feb. 9 event. Students dealt with a simulation of the United Nations trying to solve major issues around the world such as Disaster Risk Reduction, Safe Drinking Water and Sanitation, Nuclear Weapons on the Korean Peninsula, and Situation in the South China Sea.

Three from PHS were recognized as Outstanding Delegates, the top distinction. Plymouth award-winners were:

  • Kai Gahagan: Outstanding Delegate and Delegate’s Choice
  • Asa Hyer: Outstanding Delegate
  • Grace Harvey: Outstanding Position Paper and Distinguished Delegate
  • Noah McFarlin: Outstanding Position Paper
  • Sam Miller: Delegates Choice
  • Alex Oty: Distinguished Delegate
  • Owen Rubenis: Distinguished Delegate
  • Esther Seely: Distinguished Delegate
  • Michael Troka: Outstanding Delegate
  • April Xiong: Outstanding Position Paper and Distinguished Delegate

Other members of the team, which is advised by PHS social studies teacher Brad Smudde, include Anna Brink, Elsa Blad, Carolyn Britt, Isabell Gangano, Derek Heloc, Katie Hanson, Katherine Harpstead, Jenna Iserloth, Chase Jasinski, Jack Keller, Amanda Krueger, Kyle McEvoy, Taylor Oreck, Brady Petrie, Cami Schroeder, and Quinn Zwick.

The PHS Model U.N. team will address many different issues at its next competition March 22-23 at UW-Milwaukee.

Learn more:
• Explore the Extracurriculars section of our District Report Card to learn more about the successes of our academic clubs.