A student and a senior citizen look up from their foosball game

Riverview Middle School students play games with participants at Generations as part of the Game On program, which will resume for the school year beginning Sept. 18.

Game On offers intergenerational fun

Posted September 11, 2017

Everyone from fifth-graders through senior citizens is invited to participate in Game On, a fun intergenerational opportunity.

Game On is offered from 3 to 5 p.m. on select dates throughout the year at Generations Intergenerational Center, 1500 Douglas Drive.

Game On is sponsored by the Riverview Middle School Student Council, which provides snacks. Riverview students can ride a bus to Generations, where their parents can pick them up at 5 p.m.

Community members are invited to join students and play games such as chess, sheepshead, ping pong, pool, Wii, dart ball, pickle ball and board games. Participants are encouraged to bring their own games, but no electronics please.

Outdoor activities such as bocce ball, pickle ball, kickball and horseshoes also may be enjoyed. In addition, Lakeland University students and local charitable organization occasionally lead craft activities.

Game On is free, but anyone other than Riverview students should call 892-4858 to register.

2017-18 Game On schedule

Monday, Sept. 18
Thursday, Oct. 5
Tuesday, Oct. 24
Monday, Nov. 6
Tuesday, Dec. 5
Thursday, Jan. 18
Monday, Feb. 12
Thursday, March 1
Tuesday, March 20
Monday, April 9
Thursday, May 3