PHS Commencement 2017

Click the image to access a photo gallery.

PHS holds Commencement Exercises

Posted June 4, 2017

Plymouth High School graduated 193 students June 4 at Plymouth City Park with hundreds of family and friends in attendance.

The Commencement Band, directed by Jason Sebranek, performed the processional and recessional. The Senior Choir, directed by Amanda Smith, sang “Humble and Kind” by Tim McGraw.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Carlee Olsen, Student Council president. She later announced the new inductees to the Plymouth High School Alumni Hall of Fame: Gary Gritt, Joel Dudley and Beau Hoopman.

Gwendolyn Nytes, president of the PHS National Honor Society, welcomed those gathered and later directed students to shift their tassels. Class president Jacob Welsch gave the closing remarks.

PHS Principal Jennifer Rauscher explained the school’s cum laude system and the different color stolls worn by students: bronze for cum laude, silver for magna cum laude and gold for summa cum laude, the highest recognition.

Dr. Rauscher also introduced the class exemplar, Derek Schweiger, chosen by a panel of adults to represent the Class of 2017 based on his stellar academic work, extensive extracurricular involvement, and leadership skills.

Derek urged his classmates to get involved, to stand out, and to find a passion and share it with everyone else. “What are you going to do in your life that is going to make you stand out?” he asked. “Are you going to do something in your life that will make people remember you?”

Superintendent Carrie Dassow thanked the families, teachers, staff, and community for their support of the students. “My wish is for you to find happiness and to make the difference in the world you wish to make,” she said.

Dr. Dassow introduced the commencement speaker chosen by the seniors, Sam Scharinger, associate pastor at New Life Community Church and a PHS school counselor for most of their time as Panthers.

Mr. Scharinger encouraged the students to use the occasion to reflect on their purpose in life. “You see, it took me about thirty years to really start to comprehend what my purpose was,” he said, ticking off a variety of paths, starting in college where he “majored in football and minored in art” and including training as a police officer, working as a farm hand, and starting his own business mentoring struggling youths.

“Looking back now, those jobs were foundational in shaping and forming who I am today,” he said. “Along the way, in every job and during each adventure, I met someone that spoke into my life and in every situation it was preparing me for this exact moment in my life. … This moment here is preparing me for the next.”

In addition to embracing each new adventure, we need to celebrate the victories that come from never quitting, Mr. Scharinger said.

“It's through struggle that we really find out who we are and what we're made of,” he said. “If you're like me you have these two voices in your head. … One voice is usually telling me to do things the easy or wrong way and the other one is telling me the right and healthy way to do things, even if it's hard.”

Mr. Scharinger encouraged students to make mistakes, accept failure, try something new, work hard, and surround themselves with people who will hold you accountable and who love you.

“Each one of you are designed for something incredible,” he said. “Start envisioning what that is, believe it, laser in on it, fight for it with everything you have. Embrace this next adventure and never quit!”

Learn more:
Read a profile about class exemplar Derek Schweiger.
Read more about the Hall of Fame nominees.

Plymouth High School Class of 2017

Sophie Anne Albert
Abdulrahman Ibrahim Alrabia
Vanessa Ann Arbuckle
Zachary Andrew Arendt
Savannah Faye Arneson
Tasia Rose Arnold
Noah Edward Aschenbach
Elisabeth Marie Balistreri
Matilde Passanha Baptista da Silva
Helen Anne Baus
Dawson M Beal
Jared Jerome Beck
Joshua Paul Beeck
Jack Anthony Benedict
Lauren Beth Bermke
Michael Warren Berres
Gavin Peter Binversie
Megan Renee Birenbaum
Ryan Jonathan Blend
Andrew Steven Boening
Cole Robert Bogenschuetz
Aurora  Bosia
Natalie Pearl Britt
Molly Rose Brooks
Autumn Hope Brown
Lovisa  Brynjarsdōttir
Megan Rose Carbaugh
Piper Regan Carlson
Joseph Raymond Chandler
Dāvis  Dejus
Kersten Eva Dewey
Jordan Marie Doherty
Hailey Marie Dorie
Dante Joseph Dorn
Nadine Lynn Dragan
Kayla Mae Edwards
Lexi Deeann Edwards
Alexander D Eggert
Tatum Shelby Eigenberger
Bailey T Entringer
Gavin Erich Falk
Peter J Feldmann
Ethan John Fleck
Amanda Kaye Fogeltanz
Brooke Evelyn Frederickson
Gavin Lee Freeze
Taylor Ann Fritz
Helena  Gaisrucker
Brandon Santo Garofalo
Alec Tate Geiger
Saunders Martin Gentine
Alyssa Rae Sunshine Gilbert
Megan Elizabeth Goeser
Tannor Christian Gonzalez
Skyler Ruth Gosse
Emma Marion Marie Grapentine
Eric Anthony Grauman
Kathryn Taylor Grim
Cheyanne Mae Grunow
Lenea Ann Guse
Joshua David Hafemann
Spencer John Hanson
Chase Gregory Hartmann
Cole Randal Harder
Jordan Robert Clarence Hefter
Cole Mitchell Held
Ariana Lee Hendricks
Destiny Lee Henschel
Kalei Ann Hering
Kaitlyn Ann Heyrman
Taylor Michael Heyrman
Norika  Higuchi
Katelyn Marie Hitsman
Shane Warren Holcomb
Olivia Trew Honeck
Jacob David Horn
Trevor Paul Horneck
Allison Lee Horner
Grace Ann Huibregtse
Brooke Ashley Ingersoll
Jadan  Johnson
Kyle Haley Johnson
Riley J Josephs
Zachary John Kanzelberger
Matthew Adam Klas
Dylan James Koehn
Kaylee Rose Koenig
Drew Elizabeth Krablean
Alyssa Nicole Krahn
Megan Mae Krueger
Cody David Kuhn
Taylor Ann Kurtz
Brady John Leider
Leander Roger Leinen
Jacob Mark Levsen
Jordan Micheal Cruz Lomibao
Tanner Brendan Lorenz
Hailey Ann Luchinski
Tyler Andrew Luedtke
Dennis  Macheel
Emily Rose Majerus
Julia Michelle Marshall
Emily Elizabeth Marshman
Hannah Marie McFarlin
Connor James McManus
Makayla Ann Mendenhall
Cheyenne Renee Mendini
Emily Caroline Mersberger
Madelyn Lee Mueller
Jillian Grace Myers
Matthew Thomas Nehring
Benjamin James Nichols
Cassandra Rose Nicholson
Gwendolyn Margaret Nytes
Erik Marshall Ohman
Carlee Jane Olsen
Valisa  Osmani
Myah Lynn Palechek
Ryan Bradley Petrie
Abigail Marie Phelps
Allison Jade Pieper
Nicholas Joseph Pohl
Carlos Alberto Ramos
Lydia Marie Rhude
Ryan Richard Rice
Matthew James Richards
Katherine Emily Richart
Marissa Sue Ringwell
Andrea  Roncatti
Colin Hamilton Roth
Logan Reed Rusch
Maria Giselle Ryan
Calista Emily Sanchez
Jake Elliot Sauter
Cedrik Frank Scamberger
Alan Richard Schaefer
Alexis Jaclyn Schaub
Hunter Jay Schilder
Evan Richard Schmidt
Tegan Evelyn Rae Schneider
Michael Arthur Schoerner
Theresa Regina Schramm
Veronica Lynn Schroeder
Leah Marie Schuldt
Jamie Lee Schultz
Jessica Marie Schumacher
Derek Jay Schweiger
Kayla Marie Schwibinger
Delaney Jane Scudella
Lilly Rose Seifert
Alexander John Shutter
Devin Edith Sikora
Scarlet Begonia Simenz
Nazla Asria Ulfa Siregar
Abigal Pearl Smrz
Ariana  Soto
Forrest Wayne Spring
Thomas Joshua Stahl
Ethan Charles Steiner
Jacob Hughes Steinhardt
Hayley Elizabeth Stephanie
Hailey Elizabeth Stewart
Matthew Josiah Strand
Gwenyth Marie Streblow
Zachary Earl Strehlow
Ethan Alex Strong
Harrison Paul Strutz
Alec David Struve
Margeaux Anne Suttner
Megan Isabelle Thiel
Jordyn Leigh Thomas
Jake Saigeon Thompson
Carly Diane Triebensee
Matthew Allan Unterweger
Jacob Scott Van Norwick
Trenton Robert VanderSande
Adriana Lotus Wachowiak
Jacquelyn Diane Wachowiak
Tehya Rae Wachuta
Sage Bradley Wackett
Caleb J Watson
Connor Vilas Wehmeyer
Samantha Jan Weinkoetz
Brylan Jacob-Verian Weisensel
Jacob Michael Welsch
Madeline Elizabeth Werner
Michael Zachery Lee Wiggins
Jacob Michael Willeford
Brooklin Victoria Willoughby
Jeremy Charles Winter
Jeremiah Mykal Wodarczak
Shaina Meria Woyak
Julia Leigh Zahn